Two Giffnock teams were in action against Pollok at Greenacres last night in a battle to retain the Kyle Cup. Team 1, skipped by Gordon Nicholl, took an early and decisive lead which saw them 5-0 ahead after only two ends.

Pollok's fighback came in ends 3 and 4 when they managed to cut the deficit to 2 but Nicholl's team of "high heid yins" Secretary Alan and President Sandy, supplemented by Ian Potter at 3, saw the game out with a solid 7-4 win.

It was a more feisty affair for team 2 skipped by Craig Thomson, where the sides swapped single stone wins leading to a 2-2 scoreline after 4 ends. Some great curling by Giffnock saw them edge two more single stone ends, against the hammer, to leave them sitting at 4-2 with one end to go.

However, things were looking a tad dodgy as Skip Craig Thomson played the first of his two stones with Pollok lying 2 in the house. A great stone, superbly brushed by Malloy and Fish while Marshall screamed like a banshee from in the house, put Giffnock back to a precarious but potentially winning position.

The final exchange of stones saw Pollok attempt a tricky shot to take back control but it was to no avail and Giffnock stole yet another point against the hammer, finishing with a 5-2 win.

It was a terrific night of high quality curling followed by an excellent meal provided by the ever efficient Greenacres catering team. The chat and laughter around the table demonstrated once again what a sociable game curling is.

Well done to President Sandy and to President Brian Anderson of Pollok CC for organising such a fine evening for us all.


Our opening Club Bonspiel took place on Tuesday 19th September at Greenacres Curling Rink.

Honours for the evening went to the team skipped by David Sillito.

As usual, an excellent evening of curling was followed by a meal and lots of positivity about the season to come (it says here).



On the subject of positivity, the evening could not be allowed to pass without honouring 2016-17 season Swan skip Gordon Nicholl.

He was presented with the prestigious, and much coveted, Wooden Spoon by President Sandy.


Some pictures from our excellent annual dinner & prizegiving event which took place on Friday 21st April at Whitecraigs Golf Club.

Hosted by President Ron Griffiths, the evening featured a welcome by Martin Booth, Captain of Whitecraigs Golf Club; while our Secretary, Alan Smith, delivered the Grace.

Following the meal, we were entertained by Ronnie Smith who proposed the Toast to Giffnock Curling Club with a reply by our own President Ron. Sandy Halliday, our incoming President, toasted the guests and Steve Malloy presented the Toast to Curling. President Ron's friend (yes, he does only have one), Alan Wilcock, replied for the guests before Stewart Daye proposed a Vote of Thanks to all those who had worked hard to make the evening such a success.

Our 86th Annual Dinner & Prize Giving took place at Whitecraigs Golf Club on Friday 21st April, 2017. Chaired by our President Ron, who donned the distinguished Presidential bunnet, we were delighted to have a number of special guests:

Our secretary, Alan Smith, provided the Grace

Martin Booth, Captain of Whitecraigs Golf Club, welcomed everyone to the event

Ronnie Smith, a Glasgow Toastmaster, proposed the Toast To Giffnock Curling Club

Steve Malloy, well known whisky bottle chancer, proposed the Toast to the Game of Curling

Alan Wilcock "partner" (apparently) of President Ron who replied to the Toast to the Guests which Vice President Sandy Halliday had delivered.

Stewart Daye thanked everyone for their contributions.

(Pictures: Craig Thomson (yes, really) and Steve Malloy).

Well done to the Giffnock team who were, once again, the winning outside team at the Cathcart Castle Bonspiel.

And not only were they the best guest rink, but also the best overall performers. There is a suggestion that a Cathcart player (called Wendy) assisted with an unintentional promotion of a couple of Mr Smith's stones but luck as well as skill is a key element of the Giffnock game.

No doubt we will be regaled with stories of their prowess at the upcoming Annual Dinner - 21st April, don't forget. And in late shock news, apparently that's a FULL bottle of wine that Alan Smith received!


Terregles Competition

Following a very closely fought match...

Winners - Alastair Kerr (skip), Graham Steele, Alan Smith, Bruce Clarkson

Runners Up - Alex Marshall (skip), Ron Griffiths, Alan Tait, Ian MacDonald

Pairs Competition

The long drawn out Pairs Competition is yet to be settled!

The final "pairings" are...

F Corbett/G Forsyth v S Bannerman/C MacLean


Giffnock retained the famous potty last evening in our annual competition with 69 Ladies.

Rinks skipped by Stuart Bannerman and Bobby Corbett outpointed the ladies by 14-11 with teams playing 3 ends against each of the opponents two rinks.

The game looked like being a formality for the Giffnock teams until the ladies pulled back 5 points in one end. Suddenly, it was 'game on'. However, Giffnock successfully closed out the final ends to retain the 'trophy'.

After an enjoyable meal at Prezzos, the potty was formally presented to incoming President Sandy Halliday by 69 Ladies' President Rosemary Claxton.

Credit must go to Bobby Corbett (well Cecilia) for ensuring a "blooming" potty was presented and Sandy Halliday is now tasked with ensuring it's available in a similar colourful state for 2018.