In the words of Secretary Alan Smith:

"Well that's the year off and running even with Storm Ali trying hard to blow us of course - the Opening Bonspiel last night was a record in that it was over subscribed for the first time.

Your President Ian, Match Sec Sandy and yours truly gracefully stood out as “family” and watched through the bar window some of the excellent play from members and a few others who clearly have gone cold over the summer with the barn door easily missed. [So, clearly not quite so gracefully then?]

The deserving winners were team Hamilton with skip Steve carried to victory by his able team of John Finlay at three, Eric McMorris at two and “stickie” Ron Griffiths at lead. They carried off the trophy and a nice bottle of wine each that Sandy selected specially for the event."

And a nice touch by President Ian who surprised our Secretary Alan Smith when he presented him with a rather fine bottle of malt whisky in recognition of all of his hard work for the club. Not surprisingly, the now ritual-like checking of the bottle seal took place. *sighs*

(Editor's note: I'm quite exhausted now with all of my hard work updating the website... it's Glenkinchie, by the way).

Some pictures from our excellent annual dinner & prizegiving event which took place on Friday 21st April at Whitecraigs Golf Club.

Hosted by President Ron Griffiths, the evening featured a welcome by Martin Booth, Captain of Whitecraigs Golf Club; while our Secretary, Alan Smith, delivered the Grace.

Following the meal, we were entertained by Ronnie Smith who proposed the Toast to Giffnock Curling Club with a reply by our own President Ron. Sandy Halliday, our incoming President, toasted the guests and Steve Malloy presented the Toast to Curling. President Ron's friend (yes, he does only have one), Alan Wilcock, replied for the guests before Stewart Daye proposed a Vote of Thanks to all those who had worked hard to make the evening such a success.

The annual dinner and prize giving took place on Friday 15th April at Whitecraigs Golf Club.

President Fergus started off the proceedings in the traditional manner by donning the "Presidential Bunnet", thus ensuring normal order was restored for another 12 months.

Runners and riders below...

Big winners on the night were the team of Graham Barnes who took the Swan Medal with a commanding win, and Gordon Nicholl's Terregles Trophy winning team who triumphed in a one sided final.

Special mention to Bruce Clarkson who followed up his 'Points' win in Giffnock's own Lochhead Quaich competition with a big win in the Province 'points' where his score of 43 put him out of sight of the competition.

Second 'special' mention goes to relative newcomer Stewart Daye who, as well as winning the 'Pairs' with Alastair Kerr, was also awarded the 'Most Improved Player' trophy.

Losers on the night, other than the 'wooden spooners' in the Swan Medal led by John Finlay, included our own Secretary Alan Smith. Settling down on Saturday night to enjoy a wee dram from his fine raffle prize of a bottle of 12 year old Glenfiddich, Alan was sad (understatement) to find the bottle was two thirds empty! The horrified prize giver later revealed himself and promised swift compensation for poor Alan.

The raffle on the evening was organised by incoming President Ron Griffiths who chased up the attendees with excellent humour. It raised £800 for our chosen charities - a most impressive sum.

And a final "well done" to President Fergus Corbett for chairing the evening in such fine style.


The Giffnock team of David Sillito, Stuart Bannerman, Graham Steele and Steve Malloy came a creditable 3rd in this year's Old Glenalmond Bonspiel.

The event took place at Greenacres Curling Rink on Wednesday 27th January. The winning team was Glasgow XX followed by Partick.

A big thank you to our friends at Old Glenalmond for their kind invitation, an enjoyable evening of curling and the fine meal that followed.

Steve Malloy


On Tuesday 15 December, we had our Annual Points followed by a Greenacres Christmas Meal.

18 curlers participated in the new format "Points" and with only 2 stones per discipline we managed to meet the challenge of 9 disciplines (most of which were firsts for the curlers).

In the end experience shone through with the winner being Bruce Clarkson closely followed jointly by David Sillito and President Fergus Corbett.

Thanks are due to our 3 Markers, Graham Barnes, Brian Evans and Alistair Brown who "braved" the Greenacres cold.

The President's novel Sweepstake raised £100 for the favoured Heart Charity with a similar amount split among the lucky 3 reverse draw winners.

We all had a very enjoyable Christmas meal liberally washed down partly due to the presence of the Crawfords' bus waiting outside.

Alastair Kerr


Skip Fergus Corbett urges his team on to one last sweep.
Skip Fergus Corbett urges his team on to one last sweep.

An excellent evening of fellowship and sport saw Club President Fergus Corbett take the top honours and the Willie Watson Trophy. The team of Fergus Corbett (skip), Alex Marshall (three), Stewart Bannerman (two) and Graham Tough (lead) won in decisive fashion.

A fine evening of curling was followed by some excellent food and the presentation of the trophy to a delighted Fergus. Graham Tough was so overcome with emotion, he had to go home early (whaat?).

Alex Marshall, Stewart Bannerman and Fergus Corbett with the Willie Watson Trophy
Alex Marshall, Stewart Bannerman and Fergus Corbett with the Willie Watson Trophy

President Fergus thanked everyone for coming along, Alastair Kerr for his organisational skills in pulling it all together and the staff at Greenacres Curling Club for feeding us all so well.

Special mention must go to the team led by skip Craig Thomson who, despite having only 3 players (step forward messrs Fish and McMorris), attained runners-up spot. Sources do say that a 'spare' bottle of wine was subsequently posted missing!

A great start to the season which hits its stride today (Wed 16th September) with the first of the Swan Trophy games.

The Annual Dinner and Prizegiving will be held on Wednesday 22nd April 2015 within The Whitecraigs Golf Clubhouse at 7.00 for 7.30pm.

Our President, Steve Hamilton, has arranged two very interesting speakers.

Morton Dewar is a retired textile manufacture and is well known in Ayrshire Curling and Golfing Circles. Morton will propose the toast to The Game of Curling coupled with the Giffnock Curling Club.

willie_YoungThe second guest speaker is Willie Young who retired last year as Chairman of BTO Solicitors and is a former Scottish Premiership football referee. He is a regular and much sought after speaker. Willie will reply on behalf of the guests.

Our third guest is Mrs Valerie Davidson, Captain of the Whitecraigs Golf Club.

Dress will, as usual, be formal. The ticket price is £32 (excluding wines etc.).

Members are invited as always to bring guests – thinking particularly about those who could be interested in joining our Club.

Would all members please respond to Alan Smith. Those who intend to be present at the Dinner, please complete and return their reply along with their payment cheque by Wednesday 15th April latest.