Terregles Competition

Following a very closely fought match...

Winners - Alastair Kerr (skip), Graham Steele, Alan Smith, Bruce Clarkson

Runners Up - Alex Marshall (skip), Ron Griffiths, Alan Tait, Ian MacDonald

Pairs Competition

The long drawn out Pairs Competition is yet to be settled!

The final "pairings" are...

F Corbett/G Forsyth v S Bannerman/C MacLean


Giffnock retained the famous potty last evening in our annual competition with 69 Ladies.

Rinks skipped by Stuart Bannerman and Bobby Corbett outpointed the ladies by 14-11 with teams playing 3 ends against each of the opponents two rinks.

The game looked like being a formality for the Giffnock teams until the ladies pulled back 5 points in one end. Suddenly, it was 'game on'. However, Giffnock successfully closed out the final ends to retain the 'trophy'.

After an enjoyable meal at Prezzos, the potty was formally presented to incoming President Sandy Halliday by 69 Ladies' President Rosemary Claxton.

Credit must go to Bobby Corbett (well Cecilia) for ensuring a "blooming" potty was presented and Sandy Halliday is now tasked with ensuring it's available in a similar colourful state for 2018.

The Giffnock Inter-Club Bonspiel saw the host club win the overall event by 3 points, a great effort by all of the Giffnock teams.

Individual winners were Kelvinside, skipped by Ronnie McAulay who picked up the truly beautiful Wilson James Stone after posting an impressive +7 for the evening.

Our own Fergus Corbett skipped the winning Giffnock team, also with +7 and collected the Invitation Quaich.

A great turnout for or Annual Points competition saw David Sillito take first prize with Fergus Corbett 2nd and Craig Thomson 3rd. All played in great humour with an excellent meal to follow. The bus to and from Greenacres was a smart move (some thought) and asking for trouble (most thought!).

The annual dinner and prize giving took place on Friday 15th April at Whitecraigs Golf Club.

President Fergus started off the proceedings in the traditional manner by donning the "Presidential Bunnet", thus ensuring normal order was restored for another 12 months.

Runners and riders below...

Big winners on the night were the team of Graham Barnes who took the Swan Medal with a commanding win, and Gordon Nicholl's Terregles Trophy winning team who triumphed in a one sided final.

Special mention to Bruce Clarkson who followed up his 'Points' win in Giffnock's own Lochhead Quaich competition with a big win in the Province 'points' where his score of 43 put him out of sight of the competition.

Second 'special' mention goes to relative newcomer Stewart Daye who, as well as winning the 'Pairs' with Alastair Kerr, was also awarded the 'Most Improved Player' trophy.

Losers on the night, other than the 'wooden spooners' in the Swan Medal led by John Finlay, included our own Secretary Alan Smith. Settling down on Saturday night to enjoy a wee dram from his fine raffle prize of a bottle of 12 year old Glenfiddich, Alan was sad (understatement) to find the bottle was two thirds empty! The horrified prize giver later revealed himself and promised swift compensation for poor Alan.

The raffle on the evening was organised by incoming President Ron Griffiths who chased up the attendees with excellent humour. It raised £800 for our chosen charities - a most impressive sum.

And a final "well done" to President Fergus Corbett for chairing the evening in such fine style.


1-Cathcart Castle Bonspiel Overall winners - Giffnock CCOur secretary Alan Smith writes:

"I am pleased to be able to advise that the honour of Giffnock CC was upheld last night in the club's season-ending game when the team of “oldies” Corbett senior, Kerr, Halliday and yours truly won the overall Cathcart Castle CC Invitation Bonspiel with (as it was announced last night) a “runaway” score of +6!!

The prize will go down nicely with a good steak. Maybe there is life with a “stick” after all!"

No more needs to be said!