Author Archives: admin

Giffnock retained the famous potty last evening in our annual competition with 69 Ladies.

Rinks skipped by Stuart Bannerman and Bobby Corbett outpointed the ladies by 14-11 with teams playing 3 ends against each of the opponents two rinks.

The game looked like being a formality for the Giffnock teams until the ladies pulled back 5 points in one end. Suddenly, it was 'game on'. However, Giffnock successfully closed out the final ends to retain the 'trophy'.

After an enjoyable meal at Prezzos, the potty was formally presented to incoming President Sandy Halliday by 69 Ladies' President Rosemary Claxton.

Credit must go to Bobby Corbett (well Cecilia) for ensuring a "blooming" potty was presented and Sandy Halliday is now tasked with ensuring it's available in a similar colourful state for 2018.

The Giffnock Inter-Club Bonspiel saw the host club win the overall event by 3 points, a great effort by all of the Giffnock teams.

Individual winners were Kelvinside, skipped by Ronnie McAulay who picked up the truly beautiful Wilson James Stone after posting an impressive +7 for the evening.

Our own Fergus Corbett skipped the winning Giffnock team, also with +7 and collected the Invitation Quaich.

A great turnout for or Annual Points competition saw David Sillito take first prize with Fergus Corbett 2nd and Craig Thomson 3rd. All played in great humour with an excellent meal to follow. The bus to and from Greenacres was a smart move (some thought) and asking for trouble (most thought!).

The annual dinner and prize giving took place on Friday 15th April at Whitecraigs Golf Club.

President Fergus started off the proceedings in the traditional manner by donning the "Presidential Bunnet", thus ensuring normal order was restored for another 12 months.

Runners and riders below...

Big winners on the night were the team of Graham Barnes who took the Swan Medal with a commanding win, and Gordon Nicholl's Terregles Trophy winning team who triumphed in a one sided final.

Special mention to Bruce Clarkson who followed up his 'Points' win in Giffnock's own Lochhead Quaich competition with a big win in the Province 'points' where his score of 43 put him out of sight of the competition.

Second 'special' mention goes to relative newcomer Stewart Daye who, as well as winning the 'Pairs' with Alastair Kerr, was also awarded the 'Most Improved Player' trophy.

Losers on the night, other than the 'wooden spooners' in the Swan Medal led by John Finlay, included our own Secretary Alan Smith. Settling down on Saturday night to enjoy a wee dram from his fine raffle prize of a bottle of 12 year old Glenfiddich, Alan was sad (understatement) to find the bottle was two thirds empty! The horrified prize giver later revealed himself and promised swift compensation for poor Alan.

The raffle on the evening was organised by incoming President Ron Griffiths who chased up the attendees with excellent humour. It raised £800 for our chosen charities - a most impressive sum.

And a final "well done" to President Fergus Corbett for chairing the evening in such fine style.


1-Cathcart Castle Bonspiel Overall winners - Giffnock CCOur secretary Alan Smith writes:

"I am pleased to be able to advise that the honour of Giffnock CC was upheld last night in the club's season-ending game when the team of “oldies” Corbett senior, Kerr, Halliday and yours truly won the overall Cathcart Castle CC Invitation Bonspiel with (as it was announced last night) a “runaway” score of +6!!

The prize will go down nicely with a good steak. Maybe there is life with a “stick” after all!"

No more needs to be said!

Terregles Trophy Final
Sadly, this wasn't the showpiece final we all expected. Nicholl's hot-shots took an early lead and were 6-0 ahead after 2 ends.
They never looked like losing as, whenever Kerr's team set up a half decent position, the opposition stormed back to retain the initiative.
History, i.e. your intrepid reporter, doesn't record the final score but suffice to say it was a very good win for Nicholl with some solace for Kerr in that it wasn't a whitewash!
Thanks to the crowd for turning out - Sandy Halliday and Alan E. Smith.
Winning Team: Nicholl, Bannerman, MacDonald and B.Corbett
Runners-Up: Kerr, Potter, Evans and Malloy
Special mention to Ian Potter who drove up from Manchester to take part in the final, then drove back down again!
Semi Finals
It will be Kerr v Nicholl in the final of the Terregles after a stonking win for Nicholl against Marshall but a fair old battle for Kerr v M Barnes which went to the wire ...
Kerr was never in front with teams trading 1 point at each end to leave it 3-3 going into the 7th and final end:
1-0, 1-1, 2-1, 2-2, 3-2, 3-3
Barnes, with the hammer, had a difficult final shot to dislodge Kerr's leading stone but didn't manage, giving Kerr a 4-3 win. We could say we were 'swept' into the final, but that would be to denigrate the fantastic team effort!
Final on Wed 16th March @ 6pm  - Nicholl v Kerr.
A large crowd is expected!

A fabulous evening of pairs got off to a slow start due to torrential rain and traffic. So much so that Alastair Kerr had to step in in place of Gordon Nicholl. This turned out to be a master stroke as Alastair and Stewart Daye made it all the way to the final where they faced an on form Clarke Perry and Ross Pollitt.

IMG_1708In the preceding rounds the crowds were able to witness some excellent curling with players pulling off every shot in the book. Due to a late start and the ice men needing to lock up, the final was reduced to 3 ends. Clarke won the toss and elected to choose last stone rather than the sheet to play on. Alastair chose the ice he had previously played on and this made all the difference as he made a steal in the last end to win the title.

Congratulations to all involved and especially to Stewart and Alastair.

President Fergus (report & picture)